About Me!

Things to be thankful for this Thanksgiving

Since today is Thanksgiving I have decided to reflect on what I am thankful for. Focusing on what I am thankful for living with a chronic illness.

To begin, I am thankful for my friends, those friends that have stayed with me through the bad times. When I was younger my mind was always set on quantity over quality. I wanted as many friends as possible. As I have gotten older my mind set has changed to quality over quantity and my life has been better since then. My friends always check in to make sure I am okay, check in to see if there is anything they can help out with and are a major help with distracting me during the bad times.

The next thing I am thankful for is my health. Yes, I know it sounds crazy given that I am constantly being diagnosed with new chronic illnesses, but I am grateful just to be alive. I have overcome cancer, anaphylactic shock, and multiple diagnoses of different chronic illnesses. I am grateful that I am still able to fight my battle and learn new things about it, both good and bad.

One of the things I am most grateful for is my mother. She has been my number one person since I was born. She is my advocator, my biggest support, my protector, she is the most important person in my life.  My mom has been through everything with me. She is amazing. From the day I was diagnosed with cancer, to every diagnoses after that. My mom is a major advocate for me. I can tend to bite my tongue on certain situations with doctors, but my mom is not afraid to let her voice be heard. Without her I would be navigating this medical world alone.  Without her a lot of things regarding my health wouldn’t get done. I am forever grateful for her.

I would finally like to that all the men and women overseas who, unfortunately, won’t be able to spend Thanksgiving with their families this year. I am so grateful to be able to live in America where we are free. Because of those men and women I am able to spend Thanksgiving with my family. Thank You to all of those who have and continue to serve.

 

Happy Thanksgiving All!

 

-G❤️

Leave a Reply

